Birth Story

Ever wondered what happened on the day you were born? My mom shared my birth story over their wedding anniversary dinner the other day.

As I was her 3rd pregnancy, giving birth to me was easy-peasy, just like laying eggs. Not much pushing required, no birth plan or pain relief involved. I bet she could even do it while licking an ice-cream, if it wasn’t because of the story I’m going to tell next.

It happened in the wee hours of the morning when her contractions became stronger. Dad was already out for work. Mom called Dad to inform the impending labour but he said, “Hold on for a bit more, just let me complete another transaction.” Life was difficult at that time; dad had to work extremely hard to make ends meet and feed several mouths. Every transaction was precious and an opportunity to improve our lives.

When Mom could not wait any longer, she sent my siblings to the neighbour and hailed a taxi to the hospital. I was emerging so soon that she was convinced I would be born in the car. At the same time, she didn’t want to “let go” and mess up the taxi. Upon reaching Sultanah Aminah Hospital of Johor Bahru, part of my head surfaced and she sat still for the fear of “dropping” me if she stood up. The nurses quickly wheeled her to the labour room and as soon as she got on the delivery bed, I popped with only one exhalation of breath. I cost only RM13 to be delivered.

Many believe that it takes longer for firstborn to be delivered. My second sister went through 22 hours of labour with Sean while my eldest sister took 2 hours to push Ronan out although she was already dilated to 6cm before that. Although I have always prayed and hoped that my labour will be smooth, easy and fast, I definitely do not want to go through the same experience my mom did.

A believer in the magnetic law of attraction, my envisioned labour (or you can call it ‘fantasy’ or ‘denial’) is:

Step 1: Waterbag bursts / the ‘show’ / gradual contractions
Step 2: Final packing of hospital bag, take a nice shower and have a proper meal
Step 3: Drive to the hospital / tweet on the way
Step 4: Check into delivery room / manage contractions / continue tweeting / lick ice-cream from Baskin Robbins
Step 5: Stage 2 of labour
Step 6: Bub is in our arms! / tweet

Am I really delusional? 🙂 Whatever it is, I hope Bub is safe and sound when we finally see him.

4 thoughts on “Birth Story

  1. May Yee

    This is so cute! 😀

    My friend just did almost that… her water bag broke at wee hours in the morning… they went back to sleep… wokeup later for shower, pack bags and had breskfast at their favourite coffeeshop… then checking in the hospital at 10 plus…. the labour went on will late afternoon and they had to go for c-section.

    1. joeyllhow

      My doctor asked me to take my time too, not to rush or speed through traffic when contractions happen. He said that labour for first pregnancy usually takes longer. I hope mine’s not so dramatic and is as calm as possible.

  2. yen

    seems that you got everything planned out. Still have the time to lick ice cream… hahaha… let’s hope both our labour will be easy and smooth one.

    I woke up this morning and I thought the bed was wet… PHEW! it was just a dream…

    1. joeyllhow

      Hehehe, thought your waterbag broke ah? I have this phobia lately too, kept checking my bed when I wake up to answer nature’s call in the middle of the night. Yes, both of us must “jia yu!”

Leave a Reply

