Another Drama?

It’s a Saturday and we’re cooped up at home, having cancelled my much-anticipated dim sum buffet this afternoon and handling yet another labour episode. Poor Ooh Sheng had to come over and eat “chap fan” with hubby instead.

This is probably IT, though it has been progressing painfully slow. At the rate I’m going, Bub will probably be here only tomorrow or Monday.

It was 5am+ when the first toe-curling, sweat-inducing contraction that sent shivers down my spine happened. To be exact, the pain that follows is akin to bad period cramp, only 20 times worse. It feels like my back is crumbling and womb is falling off in a fast whoosh each time the contraction comes. We’ve been timing the interval since then. Twelve hours later, we’re stil at home, still no baby. The interval doesn’t make sense though – no regularity or consistency. Although the intensity of pain gets stronger, the timing is a haywire, ranging from 8 to 20 minutes. There are so many numbers on our paper now that we can easily pick a few combinations and buy lottery!

A call to Christine from Mamalink enlightened us that this may be a sign of early labour. EARLY labour?!! THIS painful?! How am I going to endure Stage 2? I’m trying to avoid thinking about the “e” word. Pray for me that I won’t give in so easily.

A I finish typing this, I’ve gone from my couch to another chair – sitting astride facing backrest – for 6 times as this is by far the best comfort position for me when contraction comes.

11 thoughts on “Another Drama?

    1. joeyllhow

      It was IT, Jaclyn! The pain was indeed scary but let’s not scare others first. Everyone’s pain threshold is different, ya?

      Bub is such a joy to have.

  1. yen

    congrats to you and stephen on the new baby boy. It’s my turn next. Tell me all the details… oooo.. so kan cheong. 😀 Remember to post up some pictures when you are feeling better.

    1. joeyllhow

      Hi May Yee, I’ve wanted to tell you the news but don’t have your mobile number. Anyways, Bub arrived in the afternoon of 21 March 2010, weighing 2.89kg. He looks like his daddy 🙂

  2. BQ

    Joey, It’s my turn soon too.. Cant wait to share every single part of your experience & coz lots of questions in my mind now…
    hoho… 🙂

    1. joeyllhow

      BQ, I think it’s better for you not to know. I didn’t go through a very easy labour. But bear in mind that it’s different for every woman and everyone has different pain threshold. So just enjoy the ride and count down to the days when you’ll see your little miracle. Every pain and sweat is worth it!

    1. joeyllhow

      Woman, you really want to know the whole story? No need la, let you go through it first and then we share our story. Really don’t want to scare you because my experience was one of a kind. Besides, my Ewan didn’t really have a good start but hopefully many more good things will roll in after this challenge. Right now, we are just focused on welcoming him home.

  3. LOL I just saw all these comments after reading your current post!

    Yup everyone’s story is different. I also didn’t share my entire story, worried I’ll scared other new mommies 🙂

Leave a Reply

