Anakku Tablet Sterilizer

Day in day out at work, I have a pail of water underneath my office desk. Every morning, I will carry the pail and change its water in the pantry, drawing inquisitive and judgemental stares. Some colleagues would just look at me strangely, some would comment while some would asked with much curiosity.

So far, I’ve received several comments about the pail:

#1 “Wow, you drink so much water in a day? Even bring a pail to fill it?”
#2 “Are you cleaning your desk today?”

And #3 was the funniest – “Are you rearing fish?”

Ladies & gentlemen, please meet my Anakku Tablet Sterilizer/Disinfectant. As I pump twice at work everyday, this container is used to contain and disinfect my breastpump parts. Each disinfectant tablet lasts 24 hours, hence the daily change of water. Compared to Steam Sterilizer, this is convenient and very portable. Plus, it only costs me RM30+ with a pack of tablets.

After giving a detailed explanation, especially when I mentioned “I pump at work”, the eyes would usually shift downward to my boobs. I bet their next question in mind is, “How does she breastfeed with such small boobs?” 🙂

16 thoughts on “Anakku Tablet Sterilizer

  1. mikichua

    ask them go read more la.. small boobs and being able to have milk for breast feed is totally 2 different thing…

    last time at work carry a bag pack for my pumps, colleagues often ask me.. going back so early..

    1. joeyllhow

      When I first came back to work, I couldn’t find a place to pump as well. A colleague, who was pumping at that time too, was reluctant to let me use her office to pump coz it would be “troublesome”. She said “either during lunch time or when she wasn;t around only”. I would love to wait but my boobs can’t. I was rather disappointed coz we’re both breastfeeding mothers afterall. Luckily my other colleagues were nice enough to help me find a room. I’m now pumping in the mail room.

  2. Joey, during the 1 month notice I served at work, I learned to hand express myself and save all the troubles like this (to me is troublesome cos had to also lug the cooler bag and all to work)

    Do give it a try to use your hands to express. Better feel as you know which areas got milk. Hope it doesn’t sound naggy but I’ve advised a few bloggy friends about this and they remembered to do this (during critical situations when their pumps broke or they forgot to bring their pump).

    1. Jenny, wouldn’t hand-expressing take even more time? I did try before but it got really messy, milk spraying everywhere. Ya, I agree that we should learn up this skill in case our breastpump fails one day. Do you know where can I obtain such information?

  3. mellomouse

    Keke I like the rare fish comment. I used to rare guppies on my desk back in TOA days. Designers mah. Almost all of us have a mini aquarium 😛

    Every morning just like, I would bring my little plastic aquarium down from 4th floor through the back staircase to the pantry and fill up filtered water. Can you imagine the stares too?

    Ahh brings back fond memories. Sorry totally off track from your post 🙂

    1. A colleague of mine rears gold fish in the office too; many many goldfish in one small aquarium. It makes me wonder how she maintains it sometimes. I have an aquarium at home now with one big and one small goldfish.

    1. joeyllhow

      MieVee, the tablets and container are sold together at Anakku. Hence I didn’t check further ;P Let me know your findings ya?

  4. Pingback: Pumping At Work: What To Bring « It Ain't That Hard

  5. Hi Joey… stumbled across your blog while I was searching for info on pumping at work. Thanks for blogging in such great detail about this… I appreciate being able to refer to someone’s actual real life experience as a guide.

    I have a question, based on all the equipment you arm yourself with every day, what’s the estimated time you generally take to do everything… e.g. how much time per session, including cleaning and packing and storing etc. I’m trying to gauge a reasonable timeframe to discuss with my manager as I return to work.

    1. joeyllhow

      Hi Serene, thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment 🙂

      As I was using double pump at work, it took me a total of 20mins for everything from setting up the pump (assemble parts, plug in), pumping (10 mins max), washing, storing in fridge & putting the breastpump parts into the solution pail again. To save time, as soon as I reach the office, I fill up the pail with water & throw in the tablet + parts. Once I’m ready to pump, just get them out & after washing, put them in again. The solution is good for use in 24 hours.

      Hope this helps!

  6. sarah

    hi joey just want to ask & get some information from u. i’m using avent manual breast pump at work. In manual book ( isis manual breast pump) said that do not use antibacterial or abrasive cleaner/detergent for cleaning and sterilisation.only sterilise with avent steam steriliser or boiling 5minites.In ur opinion it’s ok if i’m sterilise all my breast pump part with this anakku sterilizing container & tablet?

    1. joeyllhow

      I’m not sure why Avent would advise against sterilising the parts in the solution. Could it be the type of materials used to build the parts are different? I have never used an Avent pump or bottle before, so I can’t really compare the difference between the parts for other brands vs Avent. Perhaps you can check if the same instruction is suggested for their bottles as well? If so, then most likely it could be the material that probably doesn’t ‘adapt’ well to anti-bacterial stuff. That’s just my guess. Either that, they want you to continue buying their complementing products ie. steam steriliser, liquid cleanser etc. 🙂 Sorry I’m not of much help here.

  7. Pingback: Pumping At Work: What To Bring | My Blog

Leave a Reply

