Becoming a SAHM Pt #3: One Week On…

It has been a week since I left my job to become a full-time mom. At one point, especially the first two days, things were really tough as Ewan decided to stay awake throughout the day without napping. As I was still exhausted from the gruelling routine of daytime work-nighttime babycare from the past few days, I became physically and mentally drained by weekend, questioning every now and then if I’ve made the right move. Fortunately, Ewan’s excitement about mommy being with him all the time subsided; he finally settled into a routine by Saturday.

Lose the ponytail, cooking and vacuuming and that would be me as a SAHM!

I won’t lie that it’s all a bed of roses. Truthfully, being a SAHM has its ups and downs.

What I Miss Most:
#1 My colleagues 😦
#2 Adult conversations. I need to talk, REAL talk! (Thanks Jac, for skyping with me the other day)
#3 Baskin Robbin’s Pink Day every Wednesday!
#4 Merayau-rayau (loiter) and berfoya-foya (have fun) at Sunway Pyramid during lunchtime
#5 Writing press releases, coordinating media activities and surfing the Internet at my whims and fancies

What I Don’t Miss:
#1 Going through crazy traffic congestion on the way to work everyday
#2 Reading sad news and having ink-stained fingers from newspaper monitoring every morning
#3 The oily and spicy free lunch at staff cafeteria
#4 Deadlines and ridiculous remarks/requests
#5 Hallucinating days from lack of sleep
#6 Eyebags and dark circles

Right or wrong, good or bad, naughty or nice, there’s no turning back now but to embrace the exclusive privileges of staying home and caring for my little one to the FULLEST!

P/S: If you’re bored on a weekday, call me (see #2 What I Miss Most).

3 thoughts on “Becoming a SAHM Pt #3: One Week On…

  1. May Yee

    Enjoy it! πŸ˜€

    Lucky Ewan and you…. It feels good to be home with the little one…. I have no regrets extending my maternity leave w/o pay for the additional month… only if I could ask for more!

  2. miki

    ya i know. it’s so tired and i miss all the working firneds. but then when he do a little small tiny whiny things. u’ll jump for joy… that’s the wonder being SAHM. u vitness everything he do πŸ™‚

    1. joeyllhow

      I agree! Lately he has been trying to balance himself by letting go one hand while on all fours to crawl. Once in a while, he would look up at me for reassurance. That was heart-melting πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

