Tackling Eczema Pt #4

The results are in; we have finally managed to nail down the food allergens that trigger Ewan’s eczema.

Surprise surprise, my dear boy is allergic to egg – both egg white and egg yolk. No wonder his rashes have subsided lately ever since I decided to try an egg-free and chocolate-free diet.

Cow’s milk is also a no-no. Looks like I will have to abandon my plans to wean him at one year old and continue until he’s at least 2 years old to save money on the expensive soymilk formula recommended by Dr Mardziah, which is NeoCate. Poor baby and mommy will have to avoid dairy products for a while.

Out of the 11 foods tested, he’s also allergic to peanuts. I loved and ate lots of peanut butter during pregnancy; I wonder if this is related.

On the bright side, the other tested foods like wheat, fish (cod), chicken, pork, beef, soy, and anchovies are safe for him. So welcome back, my favourite soy!

7 thoughts on “Tackling Eczema Pt #4

    1. joeyllhow

      Hopefully it wasn’t caused by me. I love all 3 foods that are banned. Now it’s about staying strong and resisting temptation *drool*

  1. I steered off peanuts too for 1st and 2nd trimesters. Then my doc said that babies develop allergies from everywhere and not from the womb.

    So don’t worry, it wasn’t your fault ok Mommy. There’s egg free and milk free ice creams. Sorbet! keke

  2. mikichua

    CONGRATULATIONS! at least now you know why!
    but kinda hard to avoid those food lor. is there any further concern when he grow older?

    my son also got problem with milk…. diarrhea but i gv him pediasure (lactose free and 15% soy) instead 100% soy coz ppl say soy not good for boys wor.

    1. joeyllhow

      These foods are so common and used in the making of a lot of stuff. I’ll just have to be more careful. Paed asked to just avoid for now and gradually introduce/challenge him. For peanuts, it’s a huge no no until he becomes a teenager.

      I did read that too much soy isn’t good for boys too. We’ll see what to do when the time comes. For now, it’s breastfeeding for as long as I can. I need a better pump!

  3. Pingback: Tackling Eczema Pt#6: Top 10 Tips « It Ain't That Hard

Leave a Reply

