Kids Say The Darndest Thing!

Spending a couple of hours with a kid more often than not, makes one laugh and amazed with their creativity. Hailing from a big family with 8 nephews and nieces, I have had my fair share of fun with these children. At times, what they said made me stopped and pondered, “How come I’ve never thought of that before?” or “OMG, that’s so brilliant!”.

Over the years, these conversations below still make me laugh:

#1
Me: Ronan, when you grow up next time, remember to drive Siao Yi (youngest aunt) out for a car ride in your Ferrari ok?
Ronan: Sorry, I can’t.
Me: Why not?
Ronan: My legs are short, I can’t reach the car pedal.
Me: ?!

#2
My sister visited us during the last school holidays with her son and daughters. While waiting for my husband to come home with dinner, this conversation took place:

Sister: Wait for a bit more, your Yi Zhang (uncle) is coming home with Subway sandwiches for you all.
Ker Syn: Which Yi Zhang? The fat one or thin one?
Sister: ?!

The fat one refers to my eldest brother-in-law while Steve is known as the thinner uncle.

#3
During my recent stay at my parents’ in Malacca, my 4 year-old niece Qi Qi said this while I was pumping:

Qi Qi: Siao Ku (youngest aunt), what are you doing?
Me: I’m pumping nen nen (milk) for Ewan to drink.
Qi Qi: Why don’t you just go to the kitchen and make one?
Me: *speechless*

Don’t you just agree kids say the darndest and sincerest thing? πŸ™‚

One thought on “Kids Say The Darndest Thing!

  1. RLOL LOL I can’t stop laughing. This is just so darn cute! Chases any dark clouds away and brings in sunshine πŸ™‚

    So, why don’t we just go into the kitchen and make nennen? kekeke

Leave a Reply

