Ewan Turns ONE!

Today’s the day! The very special day where my baby boy turns one! So happy and excited I feel like standing on top of a mountain and scream “My son is one year old today! We are super proud of him! Waaaaa…!”

Ewan's journey from a newborn to a toddler

Anyways….

At 1 year old, Ewan…

~ Is a dream come true. He’s our wonderful, lovely child and we love him to bits! 
~ Acquires the spoken understanding of several Chinese words such as “tao jia” (reach home), “thie thie” (fall off), suei jiao (sleep) 
~ Addresses “Daddy” as “Dede”, “Mommy” as “Mama” and “Odee” as “Dee”
~ Signs “please” (and say it too), “outside”, “cat”, “cow” and “rain”
~ Requests for milk by saying “nen nen”. It’s embarrassing whenever we’re in the public because he would touch my breasts while saying that.
~ Loves anything and everything about animals. The songs of “Old McDonald” and “Baa Baa Black Sheep” catch his attention the best. He would point to the sheep and say “baa baa”.
~ Participates in the actions of “Itsy Bitsy Spider” song. He also helps to complete the “wee wee wee” part of nursery rhyme “…and this little pig went wee wee wee all the way home”. Funny! 
~ Gives me a big sloppy kiss on the lips (followed by a bite on my chin) every morning. The perfect way to start our day! 
~ Whenever we say, “Ewan, shall we go to sleep?” or the equivalent in Mandarin, he will tilt his head to one side, purse his lips and pretend to sleep. Haha!
~ Loves people. He’s a total flirt with strangers. 
~ Has 4 teeth with the latest upper two teeth making their debut awfully slow recently.
~ Is a good napper but still requires help with staying asleep at night. Unluckily for me, he still wakes to nurse 2-3 times a night. We’re planning to wean him off breasts soon. 

We are very fortunate to be blessed with Ewan and are extremely grateful to be his parents. Parenting rocks BIG time! Here’s to one year of parenthood for us too!

HAPPY 1ST BIRTHDAY, OUR DARLING SON!

16 thoughts on “Ewan Turns ONE!

    1. joeyllhow

      Em, we survived the 1st year of parenthood! Yayy! Bet it’s easy peasy for u by now. Thanks for the effort on the lovely cake. E loves it!

  1. Melanie

    Happy 1st birthday to Ewan….He’s growing up real fast, I’m sure you feel blessed to be able to see him grow everyday…. 🙂

    1. joeyllhow

      Thanks, Mel! Ewan is a joy and I’m indeed very lucky to see him grow. Time passes so quickly it didn’t feel that I’ve been a stay home mom for half a year 🙂

    1. joeyllhow

      Thanks Nancy! It’s an honor to hear such compliment from you. I do whatever I can to give him what I know best. You’re a wonderful mom too and I’m sure James & George can attest to that!

  2. Happy 1st birthday!

    Sigh…I remember the good old days of blogging such milestones with No. 1. For No. 2, all I can say is: “climbs, cries, eats, runs and sleeps well” 😉

    By the way, I totally disagree with “it’s easy peasy” from now on. You’ll daydream about the days when he’s a peaceful baby once he starts exploring etc hahaha. Enjoy the moment!

    1. joeyllhow

      Thanks Kit! Baby #1 always has most photos, journals, videos etc. ya? The 2nd one is more like been there, done that parenthood. Ya I was warned that it gets harder with all the walking and exploring. Keeping my fingers crossed 😀

Leave a Reply

