Sullen Saturday

As I type this, our little fella is lying next to me, exhausted from a day of high fever. Just earlier on, he had difficulty settling down, was very restless and kept crying. I don’t blame him; I would too if my throat hurts, body temperature goes up and down and have a nasty diaper rash from bouts of diarrhea. 

He’s now admitted at Tropicana Medical Centre. After three days of a vicious fever ranging from 38’C to 39.7’C, we decided to bring him in for observation. 

Just a couple of days ago, he nonchalantly braved through two jabs of his 12-months old vaccinations without a single bit of cry. Things went downhill when his fever spiked up to 38.6’C on Wednesday night. Diagnosed with throat infection, we went home thinking all would be well after the medications were administered. We woke up to find him feeling uncomfortable from scorching hot temperature on one night and shivering/whimpering on the following.  

Right now, as I post this entry, I feel helpless and remorseful. Helpless because nothing I did seemed to make him feel better. Remorseful because I probably caused this; should have cleaned his toys more often or maybe I shouldn’t try to challenge his immune system by taking those forbidden foods albeit very little. And then there was the planned birthday do with Zoey that’s supposed to happen tomorrow. I feel like a horrible mom now. 

Ewan’s pediatrician, Dr Ling Shih Gang, has ruled out the possibilities of H1N1 or dengue. Definitely a viral attack.

We are crossing our fingers that tomorrow’s going to be a better day. Get well baby, we’ve got lots of exciting stuff to do next week. Mommy misses the bubbly Ewan. 

10 thoughts on “Sullen Saturday

  1. I’m sure Ewan will be well again soon and emerge with an even stronger immunity system. Lots of fluids and sponging help. Doctor told us it’s ok if child doesn’t eat for a few days if he doesn’t want too. Just keep the fluids going (breastmilk, soup, etc.) You take care too! 🙂

    1. joeyllhow

      I’m so thankful that he’s a breastfed baby because at times like this, nothing nourishes and soothes him better than breastfeeding. He didn’t want solids and the only way to coax him was “nen nen”. We were already trying to wean him off actually.

      I know Vee went through this phase in Feb, so I’ll take your word that Ewan will indeed pass this a stronger boy 😉

    1. joeyllhow

      Thanks Lyds. As of now, his temp is down and he’s behaving like normal. I’m taking the opportunity to rest as much as I can whenever he naps too

  2. When they say motherhood has its fair share of ups and downs, I guess times like these must be the “downs”. The paed had identified what caused Ewan his discomfort, and I’m sure he’s in very good hands now.

    Ewan’s toys cannot be cleaner than clean, you have done all that you could, so get lots of rest and be prepared for bubbly Ewan 😀

    1. joeyllhow

      Motherhood is unpredictable and challenging but it really grows me, Pelf. You’re right, he’s back to his bubbly self today. If I am given one wish, I’ll ask for good health for him at all times! Thanks babe 😉

  3. Mama Singlet

    Praying that Ewan gets better soon.

    My LO is sick too, although no fever he has a persistent cough, runny nose and wheezing.

    I went through the self-talk too… Am I not dusting enough? Am I blur about possible allergies in food? Did I not realize someone smoking near him when I went out? Aii… a lot to second guess!

    You are undoubtedly the best possible mother Ewan could have, and like MieVee said, this is boosting his immune system! My doc told me to be thankful that our little ones are fighting the virus… only makes them stronger in the long run =)

    Hope the light shines brighter for you guys tomorrow!

    1. joeyllhow

      Thank you for the encouraging words, Mama Singlet. Indeed no toys can be clean enough and there’s no way we can fully protect our child from bacteria/viruses (unless we clingwrap them!). It’s just that at times like this, seeing him so restless and uncomfortable ached my heart so bad.

      It’s part of growing up eh? Thankfully E us better and back to his jovial self today. Thanks again 😀 *hugs*

Leave a Reply

