REVIEW: The Book Depository

If there is one thing I won’t mind splurging on, it would be books. At home, we have a mini library filled with shelves after shelves of books. Naturally, E took after our love for reading, so much so that the teacher at his daycare noticed his fascination with books too. To further nurture the reading habit, we recently bought him some proper shelves to store his collection and placed them in his nap cum play room downstairs so he could access them anytime he wants.

If he’s pretending to “drive” his pink inflatable racer car or just messing around in the driver seat of our cars (with the engine switched off, of course!), he would proudly declare that he’s driving to the BOOK SHHHOP – as he pronounces it.

So when Shen-Li from Babylicious by Figur8 mentioned that The Book Depository (TBD) online book store offers free delivery worldwide, I was intrigued. Yes, FREE DELIVERY to any countries including Malaysia with no minimum purchase! At that time, I was searching high and low around town for “The Happiest Toddler On The Block” by Harvey Karp – to no avail -and decided to try TBD. As they were having a sale, the books were even cheaper. One thing led to another and before I knew it, I have paid for five books totalling US$36.59.

The books arrived in one piece šŸ™‚

Here’s a detailed price comparison between the books purchased through TBD and book stores in Malaysia, as well as the savings obtained:

Double click for clearer view

TBD Advantages
1. Huge savings on brand new books!
2. You can practically find any books there – including those that are not usually carried by local bookshops.
3. Free delivery worldwide.
4. Very efficient customer service – My books were packed and despatched within two days! And there’s a user-friendly order tracking system that is constantly updated so you know when to expect your books.

TBD Disadvantages
1. Books are delivered in batches as they seemed to be despatched by different suppliers. I received five separate parcels within a span of 1.5 weeks.
2. As they are shipped from the UK via normal air mail, it takes 3-4 weeks to arrive. My order was placed on 10th February and I received the final 5th book on 5th March.

I would definitely be buying from TBD again in the future šŸ™‚

11 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Book Depository

  1. Joyce

    Ooo.. I was a little skeptical about this website, but seeing your review has resulted in a almost SG$100 order from me! I’ve been wanting to buy the “Happiest Toddler” too but it’s always out of stock ($30++), so now I shall wait for my books to arrive! Thanks for the review!

    1. joeyllhow

      It’s your first comment here, Joyce! šŸ™‚ Glad the review helps. Just curious, are the books at TBD also a lot cheaper compared to those sold in SG book stores?

      I have just started reading “The Happiest Toddler”. A very different parenting book, I must say – as in the way it’s written and the ideas….you’ll be shocked at what the author suggests that our 1-4 year-old toddler’s characteristics resemble people from the Neanderthal and hence, we should speak a language as simple as their minds šŸ™‚

      Enjoy the books!

  2. wni

    i am waiting for my parcels. order it since 4 apr. hopefully the books will arrive. do they include our phone number on the parcel?

    1. joeyllhow

      The books should arrive soon, you may check the delivery tracking in their system. Mine took almost a month to arrive and yes, they did include phone number on the parcels. Hope you’ll receive your books soon!

  3. Ami

    I’m pretty new when it comes to buying books online. Are there any taxes to be paid when buying from international sources? Or did you only pay for the books themselves (since BD offers free shipping)?

  4. abby

    Hi joey, I know you can track your orders through their website but is it possible for us to track the ordered item through poslaju? if yes then how can i get the item’s tracking number for poslaju? thank you in advance!

  5. Syira

    Hi! I just knew about this website. What a shame I didn’t realize earlier. Anyway, I wanna ask about how to pay procedure. Do we have to use credit card or online banking? I don’t know clearly about the pay as it doesn’t have in MYR. Thanks in advance šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

