E’s 2nd birthday – Horny the Cow standee

“Hello, my name is Horny the Cow. No, it’s NOT what you think. I’m Horny because I have two brown horns, not because I’m feeling randy now and then. You know what I mean…”

Horny the Cow standee for E’s birthday bash is almost ready! The initial idea was to refer to the picture above, sketch it on a white mahjong paper and turn it into a photo opportunity standee like this.

Steps to making an animal standee:

1. Choose a simple animal visual, something that’s easy to copy.
2. Sketch an animal visual with a pencil first, then trace it with a thick marker. Norman did an extremely great job for this!
3. Cut out the animal according to its shape and paste it on a foam board. You may enhance the background with blue paper as sky and green paper as grass.
4. To make the black tint on the cow more prominent, I trace and colour it with another round of marker.
5. Using a blade (and a pair of steady hands), cut an oval on the face area.
6. To make it stand, Hubby used the thick foam holder (those you can find inside new computer boxes where they are used to hold the laptop in place). Otherwise, build two triangle holders on the back with cut-out foam board.

And ta-daaaaaaaaa!

My two hours of hard work finally standing! Not too bad for a beginner, eh?

E was so excited to see it this morning that he posed for a photo:

E the Unsure Cow and Giant the Daddy hiding behind 🙂

Ummm…I’m thinking to jazz it up with some cotton clouds and maybe some pink udders around the tummy area. That would be super cute, right?

What say you?

7 thoughts on “E’s 2nd birthday – Horny the Cow standee

    1. joeyllhow

      Thanks!

      Good idea! A sheep would be quite easy, isn’t it? Don’t know if my artist is willing to draw another though 🙂

      1. eh… very easy 🙂 just use the cow silhouette.. add waves/bumps to the outline.. remove the horns… make the ears & hoofs rounder… and remove the spots & gloves 😀

      2. joeyllhow

        OMG thanks so much for the idea!! That’s the difference between someone who uses her right brain properly (you) and someone who doesn’t (me). I tried out your suggestion last night and it worked! My sheep looks cuter than my cow 🙂 I’ll share the final outcome soon. Thanks again, sifu!

Leave a Reply

