BIP: w9 – 11

Week 9
► The week came and went in a daze. When I wasn’t working, I would be munching crackers and fruits. When I wasn’t eating, I would be lying down or snoozing away.

► Started reading Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth. A very good and resourceful book that will open up your eyes to gentle childbirth.

At The Farm Midwifery Centre where the author works, childbirth is perceived as something every woman is designed and capable of doing, not a disease or illness as viewed by many modern day doctors. At The Farm, around 94% of women (that’s over 2,000 moms at the time of printing) gave birth at home or at the birth centre. Fewer than 2% had C-secs. Fewer than 1% had their babies delivered by forceps of vacuum extractors.

Ina May said: Birth is a normal physiological process. It is important to keep in mind that our bodies must work pretty well, or there wouldn’t be so many humans on the planet.

Week 10
► Managed to get myself a soft copy of Childbirth Without Fear by Grantly Dick-Read for phweeee! Email me if you want a copy too *wink*

► Squeezed myself into a tight but lovely saree. Despite spotting a bump, Christina graciously gave me the honour to be one of her candlemates in her beautiful engagement ceremony.

Walking down the aisle in my first saree, courtesy of Christina!
With the gorgeous bride and her entourage of candlemates

► Nausea intensified. “Mind over matter” chant stopped working. Journey from Malacca to KL shook me off balance. I vomited upon arrival at my father-in-law’s.

► Regular clothes no longer fitted me. Loathed and couldn’t stand the sight of all the black clothing I used to wear for work during my first pregnancy. Bought two bottoms, two dresses and two tops from Summer Glitz. Hubby bought me a few more from Gingersnaps for my birthday. That should be enough for now. Wait a minute…9 months is also having a 20% off sale. Tempted!

► Think I felt baby’s first twitch. Doesn’t feel like the usual gas bubble. I swear it was baby! Dr C said “not likely until week 16 for second pregnancy”. Ishk, potong stim!

Week 11
► ddmm is no more an embryo; he/she is a foetus now! See the head, body and tiny hands? Felt so ‘high’ after seeing ddmm on screen again.

► Follow-up check-up with Dr C. More about this in the next post.

► Vomited on Saturday and Monday. E came running to me, stood next to the toilet bowl and asked in an animated voice, “What mommy doing?” Not sure whether to cry or laugh.

► Weekday schedule goes like this: work, go home, dinner, lights off at 9.30pm, pee at 1am, munch snacks (while half asleep) at 3am, pee at 5am. Hubby made sure crackers and hot Milo in a flask are on standby at the bedside every night.

► E’s head slammed my belly area while sleeping one night. It hurt a little. Felt ddmm changing position and ‘swimming’ upwards (probably shaking his/her head in disbelief too). Talked to E the next morning. Since then, we heard E mumbling to himself repeatedly: “(Be) Careful (with) mommy’s tummy. Baby (is) inside.”

► Hubby came down with chickenpox 😦

4 thoughts on “BIP: w9 – 11

    1. joeyllhow

      Thank you Chareen. It’s such a beautiful piece of garment…love the intricate details!

      Hubby is still recovering well from chickenpox at home. It was hard to manage the household, E and the pregnancy on my own at first but after a few days, I got used to it already.

Leave a Reply

