REVIEW: Clarisonic Mia

Living in Dubai is expensive. From property and food to education and clothes, I can safely say that the only things that are cheap here are petrol, cars and Yemeni honey. I’m comparing this with what we were getting – apple to apple – back in Malaysia.

When we first moved here, I had to make do without months of facial treatment and haircut. One-hour plus facials range from AED250 – AED400 (RM252 – RM403). Haircuts for ladies are at least AED150 (RM151) at a non-fancy salon. Let’s not even bring up manicure, pedicure and massages. Even eyebrow threading costs AED15 (RM15) here! Not unlike the pampering tai-tai lifestyle many imagined, right?

I once went for a facial at a salon nearby where I lived. Not only it was very basic, the extraction lacked thoroughness and was painful, and the therapist left marks all over my face. My face didn’t feel and look clean too. Two days later, my skin felt rough again. From then on, I only get my facial done whenever I’m back in Malaysia. Despite diligently putting on scrub and mask every week, my skin gets congested quickly….until I discovered Clarisonic Mia.

My skin condition
Before I share more about my discovery, here’s a brief background of my skin: I’m not born with genes of clear, smooth complexion but I’m blessed with a non-outbreak prone skin despite its sensitivity, large pores and uneven skin tone. I have a combination skin with oily T-zone and dry at all other areas. My biggest concern is the frequent built-up of black/white heads and dead skin cells around my nose, cheeks and chin, making my skin really rough and dull.

Why Clarisonic?
I’ve came across good reviews about Clarisonic cleansing system and have seen them being sold in Sephoras before but never got a chance to check it out until I passed by its pop-up store in Bangsar Village in November 2014. I sat down for the demo, was impressed with the device but didn’t buy it due to the price. After returning to Dubai, I continued keeping a look-out for such similar device from other brands. After months of contemplation and weighing the pros and cons, I finally chose to go with Clarisonic due to one key reason – compared to others, Clarisonic is gentler and doesn’t twist or spin the skin. In what feels like vibration, it’s actually oscillation cleansing the skin thoroughly.

image2
Compact and easy to bring along for travel

 

Clarisonic Mia
I got my Clarisonic Mia in Malaysia at a promotional price of RM380 during the Chinese New Year season. I chose the most basic model – Mia – as based on my previous experience getting electrical device with various add-on features such as two speed levels, massage function, travel case etc., I would usually end up using its one function. Compared to Clarisonic Mia 2, the Mia model only has one speed level, one year warranty, a charger and a brush head. I have been using it for over six weeks now and have yet to regret not forking out a bit more money to get the higher range. In short, I chose Mia because it is affordable, straightforward and does its job.

image1
The entire assemble of Clarisonic Mia of is simple and functional.

How to use it?
Wet your face and the brush, apply some cleanser all over, turn on the device and gently move the brush around your face. While in use, apply only slight pressure on the skin. The device automatically stops after one minute. Rinse off the cleanser and follow with your regular skincare regimen.

image3

Pros
1. Skin feels squeaky clean and smooth after use. Like after-facial kind of clean. After a month’s use, my pores are visibly finer. My skin seems more radiant too.
2. No more rough surfaces around the skin, especially on my chin where the white heads usually gather.
3. My itchy hands like to squeeze white heads out of my pores but ever since Clarisonic, there were less that oozes out.
4. Because it’s waterproof, I usually bring it into the shower with me. Killing two birds with one stone for full-time mums where time is a luxury!
5.  Very economical in the long run considering that the price of one Mia can get me only one facial session in Dubai. It’s great for skin maintenance especially since I can only get a proper manual facial done every 4-5 months.
6. Easy to charge, light and compact to bring around. It’s just like an electric toothbrush.

Cons
1. It’s recommended to change the brush every 3 months. Each brush costs RM93 to RM110. Ouch!
2. Only one year warranty for the Mia model. No problem with mine so far, but still…why one year for this and two years for the rest? Marketing gimmick!
3. Slight skin flare-up at the beginning but once you get the hang of it, you’ll know how to best use it on your skin.

Tips
* When I first started using Mia, my skin reacted to the twice-a-day regimen. The skin around my cheeks itched and flared up. After reading up more about it, I dropped the usage to once every two days and shortened the time used on the affected areas. This trick worked for me. As with everything in life, moderation is key. Once my skin settled, I upped it to once daily – applying slight pressure while using it and concentrating more on areas that require attention.

* The Clarisonic devices are generally more expensive in UAE. For the same product, Mia 2 is AED720 in UAE and RM550 in Malaysia. Not surprised!

* From its official website, it seems that the Mia model has been phased out where the lowest range available now is Mia 2. I don’t see the Mia model being sold in the Sephora stores in Dubai too. However, Mia is still selling in Malaysia. If you would like to get one, head over to one of its store or buy online here.

Disclaimer: This is a non-sponsored review. I purchased the Clarisonic Mia on my own and did not receive any free products or remuneration from any party for this review. The remarks are solely based on my observation and preference, and may differ from yours.

Leave a Reply

