The project begins…

The first month
My body got a shock and went into a protest. There were movements in my womb, my energy levels dropped and I felt nauseous at one point. I was suddenly more sensitive to smell and all little discomforts/abnormalities felt were closely linked to the possibility of a pregnancy. I couldn’t do my usual workout routine too as the body was not receptive to it and kept sending signals of “Too much, way too much. Please stop it now!”. I was very convinced that we got lucky the first time around. I told the Husband, “your swimmers are very powerful” and we joked about “Ini kalilah!”

Then, my period came. A day before it was due. Was I disappointed? Yes. More ready than ever? Yes! The failed first attempt further convinced the Husband and I that we are more than ready to add another baby to our family of 4 now.

The second month
E was conceived 6 months after we tried to conceive, Xan was almost immediate. For both experiences, it only happened when I stopped fretting about it and let nature took its course. Bouts of extreme moodiness followed throughout the month. I was so sensitive that I cried while watching a Youtube advert video. The hormones were raging at its peak; I even tried to pick a fight with a man twice my size – all because his car blocked my way for less than 3 minutes. I don’t usually do that, it wasn’t me.

I had to take a nap every now and then too but it didn’t raise any suspicion as my energy levels already plummeted during the first month. Maybe I did overwork in the gym. Yes, my breasts hurt once in a while but that’s just a symptom of impending menses like every other month. Truth to be told, because the first month’s symptoms were 10 times more prominent and stronger, I didn’t suspect anything at all.

Then the day my period was due came and went. Nothing. So was Day 2. I didn’t want to get overexcited this time around, unlike the first month when I tested twice before my period was due and got hugely disappointed after that. I reasoned that if I were indeed pregnant, I would need to adjust some daily routines (ie. intensity of physical workouts, food intake, prenatal vitamins etc). Additionally, we were due to leave for Tokyo two days later for the Husband’s birthday vacation and I needed to find out if sashimi could still be on my must-eat list.

Hence, on Day 3 on 1st November 2o15, I decided to take a first-pee-in-the-morning test. Surprise of surprises….

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

IMG_4412

Yes, we are third time lucky!

Leave a Reply

