Pre-natal yoga in Petaling Jaya area

Here’s to share a summary of pre-natal yoga classes available around Petaling Jaya area:

SURYA YOGA
Instructor: Jo
Class duration: 1 hour
Fees: RM35 for one-time walk-in; RM250 for 10 passes (no expiry)
Schedule: Tuesday 10.30am – 11.30am; Wednesday 7.00pm – 8.00pm; Saturday 2.30pm – 3.30pm
Address: C-1-9 Jalan PJU 1/45 Aman Suria
Contact: 016-202 7417

Remarks: This is probably the busiest yoga studio I have ever come across so far. They conduct many classes at the same time in different rooms. Occupying the second floor of a shoplot within the hectic business vicinity of Aman Suria, it is easily accessible with plenty of parking spots after working hours and on weekends. Don’t forget to bring some coins for meter parking. I was expecting noise of cars honking and smell of food cooking from nearby restaurants but surprisingly, this is not the case for this studio.

The pre-natal yoga instructor is a mother herself and very approachable. While I feel that the room is a little crowded to accommodate six expectant mums, the class itself was rejuvenating and energizing. It gave me a really good stretch and the much-needed workout from my sedentary lifestyle of working in an office all day long.

There is also a one-time RM30 registration fee.

TRE YOGA
Instructor: Z
Class duration: 1.5 hours
Fees: RM120 for 4 classes; RM220 for 8 classes
Schedule: Sunday 11.00am – 12.30pm
Address: D3A-9 Dana 1 Commercial Centre, Jalan PJU1A/46
Contact: 016-602 6368
Email: treyoga@gmail.com

Remarks: I attended Tre Yoga’s Iyengar yoga’s classes for three months before deciding that the class was getting a little too crowded for me (I was literally rubbing shoulders with people!) and switched to another studio. Getting there was a challenge for me as traffic tend to be rather congested after working hours. However, parking is a aplenty as the Dana 1 business centre is still relatively new. It comes with two exercise studios complete with full-size mirrors.

Overall, I like both Carol’s and Z’s (can’t remember her full name) teachings as their instructions were clear and precise. Iyengar yoga uses supporting props such as ropes, blocks, blankets, chairs and belts to achieve the right postures and poses. However, I have yet to try out their pre-natal yoga classes.

UPWARD YOGA
Instructor: Ninie
Class duration: 1 hour 15 minutes
Fees: RM50 for single drop-in; RM150 for 4 classes (validity: 1 month)
Schedule: Saturday 4.00pm – 5.15pm
Address: Bungaraya Complex, Persiaran Golf, Saujana Resort
Contact: 019-345 7600
Email: info@upwardyoga.com

Remarks: I first joined the yin yoga classes here and absolutely loved it. The instructor (can’t remember her name again) is a German lady who has a naturally soothing aura that calms those whom she teaches. I once fell asleep in her class – that’s how relaxing it was! Yin yoga focuses a lot on the lower half of our bodies and is said to increase fertility. I reckon that it probably helped me conceive too.

I switched to their pre-natal yoga upon discovery of my pregnancy. The instructor is Ninie, a very petite Malay lady who owns the studio and is also a strong advocate of everything natural and organic. However, things didn’t work out for me there due to the consistency of classes. I lost the momentum of attending the class after having them cancelled for three consecutive weeks. Recently, they announced that the studio will be closed for the entire month! I opted to burn part of the fees I have paid for 😦 They should have a replacement teacher for days like that, instead of just calling it off. To me, staying fit requires commitment and regularity.

ZEA YOGA
Instructor: Zoe
Class duration: 1 hour
Fees: RM300 for 10 classes
Schedule: Tuesday 11.45am – 12.45pm; Saturday 12.30pm – 1.30pm
Address: A-1-42A (1st Flr), Block A, Jln PJU 1/43, Aman Suria
Contact: 012-209 5464 / 012-576 5091
Email: zeayoga@gmail.com

Remarks: I have never checked out nor attended any of Zea Yoga’s classes but only know more about their pre-natal class through email enquiry. There’s a first-time registration fee of RM30.

Leave a comment